Classic roundup

It’s been a while but I wanted to do a post on the results of the New York Wine and Food Classic, which were resleased last week. As I posted when the results were resleased, the 2006 Bedell Cellars Musée won for best red wine in the state.

I have not tasted the 2006, but I just sold the last two bottles of the 2005 I had a the restaurant this week. I was interested to see how fast they went, given the news that the wine received a 90-point rating from the Wine Spectator. (It also got a bronze in the Classic.) But neither customer mentioned the rating. I think they were visitors on vacation and wishing to splurge. They were not disappointed, but had to be assured that the wine was not made in California. Elegance and subtlety are what thrives on the North Fork.

In the best of Class the 2006 Borghese Chardonny won for best chardonnay. And it is delicious. I’m pouring it by the glass at the restaurant right now; it’s simple, pure and focused with a clean finish and ripe apple fruit. I’m not sure who made the wine. Their wine salesman even told me he had a hand in it. It’s Maconnais style reminds me of some of the best Long Island white I tasted and that was the 2001 George Allaire chardonnay from Gallluccio, which was made by Bernard Cannac. Bernard once delivered some Borghese wine to the restaurant, which gives me a little more evidence that he had a hand in it.

The best Sauvignon Blanc was the Macari Vineyards 2007 Katherine’s Field. I’ve poured this at the restaurant and it, too, is delicious with the same virtues of the Borghese, purity, clarity and focus. The Katherine’s Field is grapefruity, but not too, and grassy, but not too. It’s a style between Sancerre and New Zealand. A good geographic point, too.

Osprey’s Dominion’s 2005 Reserve Merlot was named best merlot. I have not tasted this wine, but am a fan of winemaker Adam Suprenant’s merlots for their Pomerol inflections without the barnyard of brett. The last vintage I tasted was the 2002, and I loved it.

Paumanok Vineyards 2007 Semi-Dry Riesling won best Semi-Sweet Riesling. This, too, follows the pattern for the whites, crisp, focused and with purity of fruit. 2007 was a great vintage. Not too exciting at the time but it was consistently warm and dry with all fruit building to a beautiful ripeness. I have tasted this wine twice, but I need to sit down and actually drink a bottle.

Double gold winners, which require a unanimous vote from the judges were the Bedell Cellards 2007 Taste White, which I have not tasted; The Macari 2004 Bergen Road, which is on the wine list and is just hitting its stride, I believe; Osprey’s 2005 Flight, a red blend of merlot and cabernet sauvignon; Paumanok’s 2007 Semi Dry Riesling; and Pellegrini’s 2005 Merlot. The last vintage I tasted was the 2002. According to the winery’s website the 2005 is not available yet. Water’s Crest earned a double gold for its 2005 Campania Rosso, another wine I have not tasted. The website says it’s 73 percent merlot, 15 percent cabernet franc and 12 percent cabernet sauvignon.

I don’t believe these awards mean that much to consumers other than to affirm their choice, rather than determine their choices. However, the awards mean a lot to those who wine them. In the end, I believe they serve most of all as morale boosters — a not unneeded element in the wine business.

The full list of awards can be found here.

1 Comment

Filed under The Local Cellars

One response to “Classic roundup

  1. I talked to Lisa Cannac last week and she confirmed that Bernard did make that chardonnay. Just FYI.

Leave a Reply

